State News

Five West Australian’s Selected In FIM WJMX Squad

Australian Squad Announced for FIM World Junior Motocross

  • 11 May 2018
  • Posted By: Linda
  • Number of views: 1513
Five West Australian’s Selected In FIM WJMX Squad

Motorcycling Western Australia is pleased to announce that five West Australian's have been chosen for the 2018 Australian FIM World Junior Motocross Championship Squad.
Motorcycling Australia (MA) today announced the Australian squad to be eligible for the FIM World Junior Motocross (WJMX) named in the squad were MWA members Regan Duffy, Seth Shackleton, Kayden Minear, Mat Fabry and Deacon Paice.

This will be the first time the WJMX will be coming to our shores and Australia is primed to take on the world! Taking place at the renowned Horsham Motorcycle Club (VIC), the event is set to be an international spectacular on the 26th of August 2018.  


The Australian squad will consist of 46 riders, which will represent the best young talent the nation has to offer. Also joining the team will be young gun, Charli Cannon who has been selected as the best female Junior in the country.
The squad of 46 riders will be trimmed to seven per class, with the possibility of Australian Wildcards being able to join the fold. Australia will represent the most riders in the field, due to being the host nation.

Australian riders have enjoyed a significant amount of success in the past. Notable standouts include Jett Lawrence taking out the 65cc class in 2014 and Jay Wilson in the 85cc – 150cc class in 2009.
Being able to host the WJMX is an amazing privilege and is without a shadow of a doubt the world’s most prestigious Junior Motocross event. It’s going to be an incredible sight to witness, delivering a show for spectators and competitors alike.

Mark Willingham will return as Team Manager for 2018 and is pleased with the Australian squad selection; “This year being a local championship, we are able to select a lot more riders for the squad. It’s going to be interesting to see how the dynamic works with a large group of riders. The host nation is allowed 7 riders per class and there may be opportunities to include wildcards after entries close, should there be enough spaces.”
“We will have a training camp, so they have an opportunity to be trained and coached on the Horsham track on the 14th and 15th of July. We will then have to select the Australian Team soon after.”
“This will be my fifth year as Team Manager and I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to get involved, as it is a local event in Australia!” Willingham finished. 


Once MA made the annoucement MWA's Media Officer contacted and congratulated each of the WA riders selected, who were all understandably excited at the opportunity to compete at a world class event.



Deacon Paice- ‘I’m really honoured to be considered for this team. WA has some awesome riders to choose from. I’m looking forward to the experience this will bring. I hope to do myself and my supporters proud. I will definitely do my best."



Kayden Minear- “I’m really pumped to be part of a strong team again this year and I can’t wait for the racing to begin!!



Mat Fabry- “I’m super happy and excited to be selected for the Junior FIM World Championship training squad as it’s my first time being chosen to represent my country and race against the world’s best. After missing out in previous years due to injury I feel privileged to finally get this opportunity. I hope I make it to the big show!”



Regan Duffy-"I’m really excited about getting picked for the Australian Junior squad; hopefully I can bring it home for everyone!"



Seth Shackleton- “I am really stoked to be given this opportunity; I will give it 100% that’s for sure.”


Selected riders
65 cc
Angus Pearce
Braden Plath
Deacon Paice
Jack Deveson
Jake Cannon
Jet Alsop
Kayden Minear
Kayd Kingsford
Koby Hantis
Ky Woods
Liam Owens
Seth Burchell
Seth Shackleton
Thomas Wood
Ty Sharp
Brad West
Cambell Williams
Charli Cannon
Connor Towill
Deegan Mancinelli
Jack Mather
Jackson Camilleri
Jesse Holding
Jasper Moon
Jett Burgess-Stevens
Jett Kipps
Mason Hills
Ryan Alexanderson
Ryder Kingsford
Ty Kean
Zac Watson
Alex Larwood
Bailey Malkiewicz
Blake Fox
Caleb Clifton
Dante Hyam
Jack Kukas
John Bova
Korey McMahon
Liam Andrews
Mason Semmens
Mathew Fabry
Noah Ferguson
Regan Duffy
Ty Jones
Tyler Darby


Any queries in regard to team selection should be forwarded to Team Manager, Mark Willingham with the details below.



Categories: News
Website Login

Copyright © 2015. Motorcycling WA Ltd.